Charleston Apartment Association Celebrates Industry Excellence at Annual Diamond Awards

In The News,

April 6, 2023

Katie Chapman

Charleston Apartment Association Celebrates Industry Excellence at Annual Diamond Awards

The Charleston Apartment Association hosted its yearly celebration recognizing excellence in the industry on Friday, March 24th at the Gaillard Center.  Susan Burke, President and Donna Bolewitz, Immediate Past President emceed the event.  The Diamond Awards are based on the four C’s of Commitment to Service, Community Quality, Champion Team Effort and Creative Application of Knowledge and Skills.  With the four C’s in mind, members were given the opportunity to nominate industry professionals who excelled in these areas in 2022. 

“The Diamond Awards are an annual celebration recognizing excellence in the local multifamily industry.  In addition to recognizing nominees and winners, the Charleston Apartment Association (CAA) included an update on our charity focus which is Shelters to Shutters (S2S).  S2S is a national 501(c)3 organization that transitions individuals and families out of homelessness to economic self-sufficiency by educating and engaging the real estate industry to provide employment and housing opportunities.  Daniel Stern, Executive Director of Shelters to Shutters Charleston, was in attendance to share the updates and progress they have made since starting here in the past year.  In addition to those updates the CAA was able to donate over $19,000 to S2S through our charity golf tournament.  It was a record-breaking donation for the CAA” said Susan Burke, President, Charleston Apartment Association. 

2022 CAA Diamond Award Winners:

  • Leasing Professional of the Year, Brooklyn Paul, The Jasper
  • Maintenance Technician of the Year, James Webber, The Channel Family of Apartment Homes
  • Assistant Manager of the Year, Nicole Ortiz, North Bluff
  • Maintenance Supervisor of the Year, Eugene Samuel, Jr, Silvana Oaks
  • Stabilized Manager of the Year, Suzie Miller, The Heyward
  • Supplier of the Year, Kathryn Gorman, BG Multifamily
  • Corporate Professional of the Year, Ruthann Klaiber, Madison Communities
  • Regional Manager of the Year, Tara Fichter, Lincoln Property Group
  • Lease-Up Manager of the Year, Hunter Helms, The Port House
  • Community of the Year (0-2 years old), The Jasper
  • Community of the Year (3-10 years old), The Haven at Indigo Square
  • Community of the Year (11-15 years old), Silvana Oaks
  • Community of the Year (16-25 years old), Atlantic Palms
  • Community of the Year (26+ years old), North Bluff
  • Board of Directors Member of the Year, Michelle Lorick, The Avenues of West Ashley
  • Board of Directors Direct Member of the Year, Kathlina Sampson, Greystar
  • Board of Directors Supplier Member of the Year, Joey Ingham,

2022 L.E.A.D. (Leadership Experience through Active Development) Participants:

  • Bora Yatagan, Maritime Pools
  • Brooklyn Paul, The Jasper
  • Daniel Bretzke, Greystar
  • Eric Goshorn, ServPro – South & West Charleston
  • Jennifer DiCenzo, A&I Fire and Water Restoration
  • Katherine Powers, Greystar
  • Kristoffer Saunders, Audubon Park
  • Myriam Ellis, Mosby Ingleside

2022 Board of Directors:

  • Susan Burke, President, Middleburg Management
  • Michelle Lorick, Vice President, The Avenues of West Ashley
  • Sedra Charap, Treasurer, JDC Management
  • Joey Ingham, Secretary,
  • Donna Bolewitz, Immediate Past President, Grayco Properties
  • Michael Bell, Loebsack & Brownlee
  • Christina Crosby, VTT Management
  • Ruthann Klaiber, Madison Communities
  • Christy Dukes, Rent.
  • Sarah Fitzgerald, Greystar
  • Michelle Gordon, Pegasus Residential
  • Kathryn Gorman, BG Multifamily
  • Thomas Howard, Brownlee, Whitlow and Praet
  • Anne Machowski, Rangewater
  • Kathlina Sampson, Greystar