CAA Celebrates Industry Excellence

In The News,

Charleston Apartment Association Celebrates Industry Excellence at Annual Diamond Awards 

With sensitivity to the new climate, the Charleston Apartment Association created a video announcing the nominees and winners of the Diamond Awards, which was released on March 27 at 3pm.  The Diamond Awards are based on four C’s of Commitment to Service, Community Quality, Champion Team Effort and Creative Application of Knowledge and Skills.  With the four C’s in mind, members were given the opportunity to nominate property management professionals who excelled in these areas in 2019.  

“The Diamond Awards are an annual celebration recognizing excellence in the local multi-family industry. This year we wanted to celebrate members while still making sure their health and safety was the top priority.  My congratulations to all nominees and winners for making the industry shine.” said Donna Bolewitz, President, Charleston Apartment Association.  

2019 CAA Diamond Award Winners:

  • Leasing Professional of the Year, Ashley Barber, The Apartments at Shade Tree
  • Maintenance Technician of the Year, Catherine Kratz, Simmons Park
  • Assistant Manager of the Year, Denise Elliott, Plantation Oaks
  • Maintenance Supervisor of the Year, Ryan Ferguson, Quarterdeck at James Island
  • Manager of the Year, Michelle Lorick, Plantation Oaks
  • Vendor of the Year, Robert Knight, Pivotal Restoration
  • Marketing Professional of the Year, Sarah Fitzgerald, Greystar
  • Regional Manager of the Year, Michael Silky, Greystar
  • Groundskeeper of the Year, Thomas Shrum, Atlantic at Grand Oaks
  • Community of the Year (0-2 years old), Central Island Square
  • Community of the Year (3-10 years old), Simmons Park
  • Community of the Year (11-20 years old), Atlantic Palms
  • Community of the Year (31+ years old), Plantation Oaks
  • Board of Directors Member of the Year, Joey Ingham,
  • Board of Directors Associate Member of the Year, Michael Bell, Loebsack and Brownlee
  • Board of Directors Direct Member of the Year, Danielle King, Elan Midtown

2019 - 2020 L.E.A.D. (Leadership Experience through Active Development) Participants:

  • Christian Ensminger, Vandelay Waste Valet
  • Patty Aitken, BG Multifamily
  • Ross Hartill, Zen Dog Spa
  • Suzy Spell, North Bluff Apartments

2019 Board of Directors:

  • Tammy Carvajal, President, Pegasus Residential
  • Donna Bolewitz, Vice President, Grayco Properties
  • Susan Smits, Treasurer, Mosby Ingleside
  • Christy Dukes, Secretary, RentPath
  • Lisa Pelloni, Immediate Past President, AdaLease Property Management
  • Ashley Venable, Central Island Square
  • Brendan Rodgers, Carter Haston
  • Cathy Hontz, RentPath
  • Eric Kramer, Private iPrint
  • Frannie Post, Tribute Properties
  • Joey Ingham,
  • Kathlina Sampson, Greystar
  • Krystle Stephens, 4830 Wescott
  • Megan Madden, Greystar
  • Michael Silky, Greystar
  • Michelle Lorick, Plantation Oaks
  • Thomas Howard, Brownlee, Whitlow and Praet


The Charleston Apartment Association is a nonprofit organization comprised of professionals that support, serve, advocate and educate the multifamily industry. As leaders, we are dedicated to our industry’s growth and its evolution.